More About Me

Cape Town-based Personal Change Practitioner. That means coach, counsellor, mentor and consultant. Owner of Chrysalis Counselling, MentorIT and (concept)Coaching.

Father of the AmzMonsta (in the real world a beautiful young lady studying at the University of Auckland). Amz lives in New Zealand, and I miss her every minute of every day. Ok, maybe not every minute, but definitely a lot!

I love books, music, movies, food, computers, art, poetry, photography and nature: the Cederberg, the Karoo, the Cape Coast and Namibia. And my Land Rover, Jane.

My favourite food is watermelon, pomegranate, boerewors, sourdough bread, avocado, goat's milk cheese, roast rack of lamb, chicken curry with basmati rice, sultana seedless grapes, milk, salami, zoo biscuits and deep-fried, beer-battered hake and chips. Yes, I eat meat, although many of the people I love are vegetarian. We show each other respect and peacefully co-exist.

I have traveled in South Africa, Namibia, Swaziland, Lesotho, Botswana, Namibia, Angola, Egypt, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Also Australia, New Zealand, Malaysia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Mauritius, Bahrain, UAE, Saudi Arabia and Bahrain. Then almost every country in Western Europe except Spain (must go to Barcelona!) as well as every country in Scandinavia except Lapland. (Is Lapland in Scandinavia?).

My three favourite cities in the world are Cape Town, Sydney and London. And Paris. Ok, so make that four favourite cities. Three favourite countries in the world are South Africa, Italy and Namibia. I have never been to the US of A (am I missing anything?).

I love pens, particularly fountain pens. Favourites are my Waterman and my Cross, with brown ink (Parker Mocha). My daughter once said to me: "Dad, I think it is great that we both love stationery"! She does, too. And I love that she does. Now if I can only get her to read more. Oh, and I am still hugely upset about the Mont Blanc Meisterstück I lost a while ago.

I also love watches and clocks. And churches (from the outside) and libraries (from the inside).

I dabble on the internet and with social media. I am brimming with web-based (and other) business ideas ... watch this space!

I sometimes do woodwork and a bit of woodturning (Rockwell and Myford lathes) and do genealogical research when the mood takes me. I also restore old turntables and l love listening to vinyl. Classical, Pop, Jazz, Rock, Country, Folk... you name it, and I have it and listen to it. My turntables include Linn Sondek, Thorens, Garrard and Technics.